So the confusion is all over the world, some may have misinterpreted it. Issues such as the implementation of the policy, the timing of its implementation, what type of data will be shared and the effect if you disagree with the policy are not clear. Here is clear information about the policy.
The controversy fueled conversations about sharing information with Facebook, which generated these outraged criticisms. The company clarified that the update does not expand its ability to share personal data with its parent company. They added that users’ location is not visible and contacts are also not shared with Facebook. But that does not mean that WhatsApp does not share information, they already share a large amount of information with Facebook.
They shared a blog where they clarify that the company shares information such as account registration number or phone number, information about transactions or purchases, some information related to services, interaction with companies, IP address, and information from mobile devices based on the permission of the users.
What happens if you don’t agree with the new Whatsapp policy?
Although they did not provide in-depth details about the problem, they did mention that if any user does not accept the new policy, they will not be able to use all of its functionality.
On their own terms company said, for a short time, users can receive calls and message notifications, but they cannot read or send messages. The company added that users have time to accept the updated policy after 15 May 2021, and inactive user accounts are usually deleted after 120 days permanently.